UPDATE AND PETITION: URGENT ACTION NEEDED! MAKE CALLS! RESCUE THE DOGS!

11 Mar

Picture taken by MariLu of the Dogs in Everett PA

3/17/12 UPDATE:  There is now a petition asking the Humane Society PA state director and the Federated Humane Societies of Pennsylvania to step in.  Both the owners and the Bedford County Humane Society need to be investigated – the owners for abuse and the Bedford Cty Humane Society for why they are ignoring the abuse.  Please sign and share:

http://www.change.org/petitions/humane-society-investigate-everett-pa-neglected-dogs-and-cats

– – – – – – – –

3/11/12:  UPDATE ON: EVERETT PENNSYLVANIA – TWO DOGS NEED RESCUED/NO FOOD/NO WATER/CHAINED & ABUSED!

Hand4Paws received an email from a wonderful woman who drove out to check on the dogs.  Here is what she found:

“When I got there – I managed to take a pic of the only dog I saw… He was in a pen no longer than me & there is so much trash around !!  OMG… anyway when I spoke to the lady she was willing to show me the dogs, but had to get dressed – the grandmother then appeared in the doorway & started screaming saying & I quote “she feeds them 3 times a day & were tired of getting harrassed by these neighbors”!!!

After grandmother when into the house – the idiot came outside & started screaming “who is here & what do they want “!!  I proceeded to tell him who I was & what I wanted – he told me that he was gonna call the state troopers !! I being from Philly told the idiot to call them & if he wanted I had them on speed dial !!  After I called the state troopers – no trooper was in the area… I hung up with them & called the Humaine Society & got a recorded message stating they were closed.

The idiot started demanding that I leave cuz I was trespassing on private property ….There was no posted signs anywhere – guy is full of crap… The woman peered out of the house to show me the dogs & we started walking towards the woods !!!  I’m thinking – Great, I’m gonna see them !!   WRONG !!!   The idiot told me that if I dont leave his property – I was gonna be shot… He demanded that the woman get back into the house.  I said ok…I will be back !!  After that I was on my way home & ran into a state trooper – I flagged him down & proceeded to advise him of everything that transpired that morning…The officer told me to not give up – & to get the “multiple” dogs & kitties outta there !!  (exact words)

The officer also told me to flood the Humane Society by email & phone calls until they act !!”

This caring woman went out of her way to go check on the dogs.  The least we can do is call the Humane Society of Bedford County, asking that they check on – and help – these abused dogs.

– – – – – – – – – – –

Here is the original post, including the phone number for the Humane Society:

EVERETT PENNSYLVANIA 2 DOGS NEED RESCUED/NO FOOD/NO WATER/CHAINED & ABUSED!
Authorities refuse to do anything…..no help at all! Unknown rescuer got 1 of the 3 dogs. 
Address: 2187 Menchtown Road Everett, Pennsylvania
If you are from this area and know of a no kill rescue that could help these pups please contact them and let us know! hand4paws@mail.com

Everett Police Department
100 Mechanic Street, Everett, PA 15537, United States
+1 814-652-2312

Humane Society of Bedford County
Address
1108 Lutzville Rd, Everett, PA 15537-6801
Phone
+1 814.623.8968

The picture was posted on this page https://www.facebook.com/pages/Free-the-Everett-Dogs/212877685442976

38 Responses to “UPDATE AND PETITION: URGENT ACTION NEEDED! MAKE CALLS! RESCUE THE DOGS!”

  1. Sarah Daw March 11, 2012 at 8:05 pm #

    There is a rescue group at dogsdeservebetter.org in PA that deal with such cases….here’s a link to her video…. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y4qW6mnOABI

  2. ck March 11, 2012 at 11:32 pm #

    Great but dont forget the cats! they deserve better too x

  3. gnr livestock March 12, 2012 at 2:13 am #

    theirs a way to get some one to help you,you say theirs an older woman on these premises,call hrs an i say this im a guardian over 2 people been a guardian for over 8 yrs an the law states that it has to be safe for the person .garbage is not safe in any manor an hrs can call for the dogs too,its worth taking the chance on this because hrs can do some thing no matter if the owner of the dogs like it or not this is called elderly endangerment .it would be better if children where present .in the house hold but if they arent you can call the 24hr hot line an tell them theirs an older person in danger of their surroundings , an with this man yelling at every on to go back into the house thats a from of verbal abuse .its worth a shot at this .its better then doing nothing once hrs steps in then some thign will be done bet on this!

    • Marilu Lepley March 12, 2012 at 11:10 am #

      I elderly woman was wearing an oxygen mask when I was talking to her !! I do not know if there are any children !!

      • Hand4Paws March 12, 2012 at 8:16 pm #

        MariLu thank you so much for all you have done! ❤ (L)

  4. Free the Everett Dogs March 12, 2012 at 2:42 am #

    Is the bottom picture current from today? I know a rescue that will take this dog right now. Will the owners surrender? Did you see the Husky? The HS in Bedford is a No Kill Shelter. Did they agree to release the dogs?
    Did you get pictures of them without food or water also? You may contact me by email if I can help you.

    • Marilu Lepley March 12, 2012 at 11:08 am #

      The owners will not release any of them…I went there and was told by neighbors that there are multiple dogs & kitties there…They told me that these people keep the remaining dogs in the woods.

      • Laura w/ Pudge-n-Pals March 14, 2012 at 8:03 am #

        Is there no limit to the number of pets/animals/canines that any resident may own or have in their care? Wellfare check!!!..Call for service….welfare check!!.. Ummmm & may I suggest this be workef out ahead of time with the Supervisor on duty of the local Sheriff’s dept f that’s protocol there to call them first to go do a WELFARE CHECK!! & make sure it’s the animal friendly one that knows the laws & afraid to enforce them!! , SPCA,

      • Hand4Paws March 14, 2012 at 2:08 pm #

        Good Point Laura! I just called again this morning and there is no answer at the Humane Society. I think they are hiding. (Liliana)

    • Marilu Lepley March 12, 2012 at 11:10 am #

      Yes to bottom pic was from yesterday morning !!

      • Hand4Paws March 12, 2012 at 2:14 pm #

        Thank you Mari!

  5. Colly Paulette M Young March 12, 2012 at 5:51 am #

    If I understand right you posted the owner made a death threat, saying he’d shoot you. “The idiot told me that if I dont leave his property – I was gonna be shot… ” That is in itself a death threat. Call Police again, relay this and insist on pressing charges.This is the only picture I’ve seen, and it’s clear there’s many physical dangers to any animals kept in these conditions. I’d insist an onsite investigation as these animals are in dange from all the debris and metal junk as an example
    Next I’d contact local media with pics and conditions here. Do you know if the owners own this property or rent? Lastly, if it were me, and yes, I’ve done it to save a dogs life. is arrange for rescues to take them, and go in under darkness if possible and take the dogs, period. I don’t condone breaking the law, but if it saves their lives I’d do anything. Even if you just had a rescue waiting close by, release the dogs and pick them up thinking they’re strays and said waiting rescue can pick them up. SOMETHING HAS TO BE DONE FOR THESE POOR, DEFENSELESS ANIMALS. Make sure the “owner” is not around when these babies are released/saved.

    • Marilu Lepley March 12, 2012 at 2:24 pm #

      Colly, you have to understand that “technically” it is private property & yes I was trespassing…Being from a small town – I dont consider that a death threat…we call it full of hot air …lol
      Anyway you are absolutely correct while getting these babies outta there !! The owners live in a run-down house and dont know if they rent or own…but I have bolt cutters & willing to go back up there & get those babies out of the woods !!!
      I really need the help though…I have a DodeDurango & can put 2 large crates in my SUV but that’s it !!

    • Free the Everett Dogs March 12, 2012 at 6:50 pm #

      Everyone needs to call the HS in Bedford and please join our Facebook page “Free the Everett Dogs”. Thank you!

  6. Free the Everett Dogs March 12, 2012 at 3:25 pm #

    Marilu…..Opal and Dalmar own all this land. Our contact went by over the last few weeks and said you can not see the dogs from the Road is that correct? Did you see the Husky, because the picture you have posted if from March of 2010. So you took the bottom picture as of yesterday? There is only one dog in the woods, the Shepherd has been removed. Did they get more dogs? Is the Husky up close to the house?
    Our facts and the people going out to the house and yours are conflicting….can you clarify or contact me on the “Free the Everett Dogs” facebook page? There should only be two dogs there and only one is on the edge of the woods. There are no neighbors close by. I am not trying to argue with you it’s just that I am really confused that they now have MORE DOGS?? I think everyone should be contacting this place and asking what is going on also….https://www.facebook.com/pages/Bedford-County-Humane-Society/152691131420898?ref=ts

    • Marilu Lepley March 12, 2012 at 5:02 pm #

      Before I went to the house I stopped at the neighbors farm across the street…I dont know his name. The neighbors told me that there are multiple dogs in the woods. I dont know the truth behind that b/c I was forbidden to see the animals. The neighbors also told me that the Humaine Society was at the house before. I managed to take the pic of the dog from my car before I knocked on the front door. I did not see any other dogs. You can see only one dog from the street – that is how I managed to take the picture. I did not see a siberian husky. If you would like to talk to me directly, my # 267-566-9120.

  7. Free the Everett Dogs March 12, 2012 at 6:48 pm #

    UGH….nice talking to you Marilu, now I think I’am going to vomit………thank you and let me know your outcome of our discussion and we will keep in touch. Your a brave woman for going out there by yourself. I never would of.

    • Marilu Lepley March 13, 2012 at 1:25 pm #

      OMG…Barb I just read the entire journal entries you guys made for these Everett Dogs….Let me just say that we need to get them all outta there…Everytime I call the dog warden – he states that they do not investigate dog cruelty/abuse.
      Seriously ??? What do they do all day – sit on their butt and eat doughnuts all day !!!!
      I have bolt cutters in my suv & will use them if necessary

      • Barb wheeler March 13, 2012 at 2:23 pm #

        Yes Marilu its vert disturbing to see and read all the post’s on there. I also have bolt cutters but my vehcile is in the shop right now. Also Mr. Higgins himself told me that the one dog that they did was removed had been adopted from Bedford Humane Society and they let that poor girl live there like that for many years even after we tried to get them to go out. We then contacted PETA and they pressured them and that how Bindi got removed from there but they left the other 2 which is wrong. We got 1 or 2 updates on Bindi and no more since then even though lots of people have asked they just remove those post’s and ingore us. They also have blocked us from posting on thier wall on facebook. One time Bedford free press posted the weather outlook and I replied about the dogs and was basicaly told that I should not be out on that property in the dark pushing my weight around not knowing the layout of the property because “THE HILLS HAVE EYE” that comment is a little disturbing and to me it means they will be looking for me and kill me or harm me like in the movie the hills have eyes.

        Ii am more than willing to help save these poor souls even if I get arrested doing so.

      • Marilu Lepley March 13, 2012 at 2:46 pm #

        That’s sad…turning your head and thinking the problem will go away !! It’s funny cuz Bedford Humaine Society is still friends with me on f.b.
        I think I will send them a message about these babies !!!

      • Hand4Paws March 13, 2012 at 2:58 pm #

        MariLu and Barb…should we start thinking about a petition targeting Bedford Humaine and the Mayor Scott Lang ?

      • Marilu Lepley March 13, 2012 at 3:54 pm #

        Sounds great to me !!! I’m in

      • Hand4Paws March 13, 2012 at 6:53 pm #

        Ok we will start drafting it and will talk to the rest of H4Ps team. Thank you so much! (Liliana)

      • Marilu Lepley March 14, 2012 at 11:10 am #

        Thanx so much for all your help !! You guys rock !!!

      • Marilu Lepley March 14, 2012 at 6:31 pm #

        I just got off the phone with Jenn Forbes (works for P.E.T.A.)…I gave her the site for “save the everett dogs and told her to read it…She is very concerned with everything I told her about this dirty,filthy place and she is looking into it…I advised Jenn to send a message to Hand 4 Paws in case she has any questions…I hope that was ok..

      • Hand4Paws March 15, 2012 at 4:04 am #

        More than ok my friend. Will let you know if she does! (Liliana)

    • Marilu Lepley March 13, 2012 at 1:27 pm #

      I really enjoyed our conversation & meeting a new friend !!! I definately wanna go back there but this time take along my bolt cutters & remove all animals…
      This whole ordeal is bolonie !!!

      • Barb wheeler March 13, 2012 at 2:31 pm #

        NEVER GO THERE ALONE it’s not safe for you take a few people with you. I live right on the border of Ny and Pa 3 to 4 hours from there

      • Marilu Lepley March 13, 2012 at 2:41 pm #

        Next time I go Barb…I will call ya !!

        Just in case…my cell # 267-566-9120 (hold onto it)

        By the way – How & is it possible to work with you guys ??

  8. Free the Everett Dogs March 12, 2012 at 6:49 pm #

    Not ALONE!

  9. Christy March 12, 2012 at 8:24 pm #

    http://extras.altoonamirror.com/ForTheRecord/Documents/rainbow1.pdf

    IDK if this helps on addressing who this is but i typed in the address and this link showed up..

    • Marilu lepley March 13, 2012 at 11:52 am #

      Thanks. ..I will hold onto this just in case

  10. Gwen March 16, 2012 at 8:23 pm #

    I’ve made calls/emails to Everett’s elected officials– may be good if we all do.
    Borough Council Members (Term Expires December of …)

    Carl F. Michael III, President (2013)
    Harry F. Leonard Jr., Vice President (2013)
    Wendy L. Dunkle-Daley, President Pro-Tem (2011)
    Denise R. Bouch (2013)
    Barry Husick (2013)
    Charles W. Karns (2013)
    Kelly S. Miller (2011)

    Kevin A. Gardner, Mayor (2013)

    Secretary/Treasurer: Eileen L. Reyan
    Chief of Police: Wayne E. Emerick
    Solicitor: Bradley D. Allison
    Auditor: Ritchey, Ritchey & Koontz
    Tax Collector: Karen Foor
    Engineer: P. Joseph Lehman

    • Hand4Paws March 17, 2012 at 3:24 am #

      Awesome Gwen! Thank you! I have called and left a message but they have not called me back or called back to any of the Hand4Paws members. We are working on a petition…just it seems that if we target the humane society that serves that area…not much will get done. So we were thinking of the Mayor…maybe he will get his act together if he sees how so many people are taking notice of what is going on.

  11. Gwen March 16, 2012 at 8:28 pm #

    I saw another posting on this same home from 2011. Apparently, nothing has EVER been done about these people.

  12. Gwen March 16, 2012 at 8:32 pm #

    Previous posts from 2011:
    http://www.twopeasinabucket.com/mb.asp?cmd=display&thread_id=3075582

    and
    http://www.facebook.com/notes/dogs-deserve-better/situation-with-three-dogs-in-everett-pa-living-in-the-mud-garbage-feces-underwei/10150102346841086

    It does not appear ANYTHING has ever been done about these people, and the dogs are still continuing to languish there. Cannot believe the authorities have not done more after all the harassment from rescue community

    • Marilu Lepley March 17, 2012 at 5:51 pm #

      Hey Gwen…

      We are trying to get the dog warden and the humaine society to listen – however they keep saying that they go out there and all the dogs have appropriate food and water…We know that to not be the case…However still fighting for these babies up there.

Leave a Reply

